Carl Fairley

Paxton resident Carl Fairley adds some polish to his 1960 Nash Metropolitan, which he entered into Paxton’s annual Fourth of July car show at Pells Park. His antique car, purchased in 1997, placed third in the 1960-64 stock class.

Listen to this article

PAXTON — Following are results from Thursday’s annual Fourth of July car show at Pells Park in Paxton:

1900-1939 Stock

(Sponsored by Central Illinois Disposal & Recycling)

1st place — Ted Reynolds of Paxton (1915 Ford Model T).

1900-1939 Modified

(Sponsored by Paxton Ready Mix)

1st place — Lynda Vandyke of Champaign (1932 Ford Roadster).

2nd place — Dustin Colclasure of Mahomet (1932 Ford Roadster).

3rd place — Charles and Sherry Shumate of Potomac (1929 Ford Model A Tudor).

1940-1949 Stock

(Sponsored by Mary Kirin/State Farm Insurance)

No entries

1940-1949 Modified

(Sponsored by Hudson Drug & Hallmark Shop)

1st place — James Vance of Danville (1941 Chevrolet truck).

2nd place — Gary and Judy Ricketts of Thomasboro (1949 Ford F1).

3rd place — John Knerr of Paxton (1949 Chevrolet 3100 pickup truck).

1950-1959 Stock

(Sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Insurance)

1st place — Bill Schwelitz of Champaign (1959 Chevrolet Impala convertible).

2nd place — Clyde Corzine of Urbana (1955 Chevrolet Belair coupe).

3rd place — John Heintzelman of Paxton (1957 Chevrolet Belair sedan).

1950-1959 Modified

(Sponsored by Paxton IGA)

1st place — Brad Weisenbarn of Paxton (1950 Chevrolet pickup truck).

2nd place — Justin Brown of Paxton (1954 Chevrolet 210 sedan).

1960-1964 Stock

(Sponsored by Farmers-Merchants Bank of Illinois)

1st place — Greg Cunningham of Normal (1960 DeSoto Adventurer).

2nd place — Lawrence Jahn of Hoopeston (1963 Chevrolet Corvair Spyder convertible).

3rd place — Carl Fairley of Paxton (1960 Nash Metropolitan convertible).

1960-1964 Modified

(Sponsored by Compass Insurance Partners)

1st place — Eric Larkin of Hoopeston (1964 Chevrolet Suburban).

1965-1969 Stock

(Sponsored by Schwing Service Center)

1st place — Craig Woods of Danville (1967 Ford Mustang).

2nd place — John Knab of Loda (1966 Dodge Dart wagon).

3rd place — David and Lorene Brown of Bloomington (1966 Chevrolet Impala Sport coupe).

1965-1969 Modified

(Sponsored by Coates’ Wicked Wheels)

1st place — Mark Roeder of Heyworth (1966 Chevrolet Malibu Sport coupe).

2nd place — Brad Weisenbarn of Paxton (1969 Chevrolet Camaro RS).

3rd place — Heather Andersen of Rantoul (1969 Chevrolet Camaro).

1970-1974 Stock

(Sponsored by G&S Service Center)

1st place — Tim Johnson of Paxton (1973 Chevrolet Camaro).

2nd place — Austin Clawford of Milford (1970 Dodge Dart Sport coupe).

3rd place — Gabriel Burgess of Paxton (1970 Ford F350 dumptruck).

1970-1974 Modified

(Sponsored by Steen Auto Sales)

1st place — Jim Hays of Paxton (1972 Chevrolet C-20 pickup truck).

2nd place — Chris Schoonover of Thomasboro (1970 Chevrolet C-10 pickup truck).

3rd place — Kegan Lantz of Paxton (1972 Ford F100 pickup truck).

1975-1979 Stock

(Sponsored by Jeff’s Custom Exhaust)

1st place — Jason Reed of Milford  (1979 Ford Ranchero).

2nd place — Rory and Madelyn Bowen of Paxton (1979 Ford Bronco).

1975-1979 Modified

(Sponsored by Diversified Services of Buckley — Larry Abbe)

1st place — Jessica Marty of Paxton (1977 Chevrolet C10 pickup truck).

1980-1989 Stock

(Sponsored by True Value Hardware & Rental)

1st place — Chris Barham of Strawn (1987 Pontiac Trans Am GTA).

2nd place — Colton Cofel of Loda (1981 Chevrolet Camaro Z28).

3rd place — Don Hadler of Ludlow (1987 Chevrolet El Camino Choo Choo Custom).

1980-1989 Modified

(Sponsored by Sikes Insurance Agency of Buckley)

No entries

1990-1999 Stock

(Sponsored by Market Street Dental)

1st place — Travis Shumate of Gibson City (1990 Chevrolet Camaro IROC Z).

2nd place — Chuck Barham of Strawn (1993 Chevrolet Corvette 40th Anniversary).

3rd place — Graham Voelker of Gibson City (1992 Cadillac Brougham).

1990-1999 Modified

(Sponsored by Insurance Providers Group)

1st place — Jeremy Shumate of Oakwood (1991 Chevrolet S10 pickup truck).

2nd place — Josh Burgess of Paxton  (994 Chevrolet Camaro Z28).

2000-2019 Stock

(Sponsored by Mary Kirin/State Farm Insurance)

1st place — George Pfeffinger of Kankakee (2003 Chevrolet Corvette 50th Anniversary).

2nd place — Rod Enghausen of Rantoul (2012 Ford Explorer).

3rd place —Timothy Hess of Paxton (2005 Mazda RX8).

2000-2019 Modified

(Sponsored by Farmers-Merchants Bank of Illinois)

1st place — Bret Graham of Paxton (2012 Chevrolet Camaro SS).

2nd place — Jim Graveline of Hoopeston (2009 Ford Mustang GT 500).

3rd place — Dustin Young of Tacoma, Wash. (2012 Dodge Charger R/T).

Special Interest Stock

(Sponsored by Steen Auto Sales)

No entries

Special Interest Modified

(Sponsored by Market Street Dental)

1st place — Travis Gourley of Urbana (2000 Suzuki Nayabusa).

2nd place — Carl Peterson of Paxton (1933 Dodge rat-rod).

Best of Division (Stock)

Gary and Pam Garrison of St. Joseph (1969 Plymouth Roadrunner).

Best of Division (Modified)

Ron and Jane Oser of Paxton (1957 Chevrolet Belair Sport coupe).

Bob Johnson Memorial Trophy

(Sponsored by CAR’s Classic Automotive)

Chris Barham of Strawn (1987 Pontiac Trans Am GTA).

Best of Show

(Sponsored by Bull’s Custom Shop)

Chester, Sue and Chad Nicholas of Gibson City (1963 Chevrolet Impala SS).